Live Review: Lamb of God | Megadeth

Saturday 14th November, Wembley Arena

I had been looking forward to this day for a long long time. Why? Because I had never seen Lamb of God before and it is definitely long overdue.

I was however slightly disappointed that what was advertised as a co-headline tour, was more of a Megadeth headline tour with an extended set from Lamb of God.

I arrived late to the gig and missed Sylosis – not

DSC_0100
Children of Bodom

too disappointed with
this, but may have been nice to see them. The first band that I saw that night was Children of Bodom. Now, I don’t know what people expect from a band with a name like Children of Bodom, but they are a heavy, melodic death metal band. Also a band that have strong singles/tracks but the albums all merge into one (rather like Amity as mentioned in a previous post). These are another band that I have wanted to see for a while, so very pleased I got to see them and would love to see play for longer to fully judge their live performances (from this short set I am optimistic).

Great start to the evening that was about to get a hell of a lot better.

DSC_0107
Lamb of God

Lamb of God. Oh my God what a show! I would say only two songs of the new album was a bit of a let down, but Wembley is a huge venue! I would guess that as this was an arena tour, they decided to go with a lot more of the ‘classics’, creating a monster set list that everyone enjoyed. Randy is such an inspirational man and an outstanding live vocalist. The stage show with the screens was excellent. No pyro, no CO2 cannons, no fireworks, yet still a show that I will remember (100% going to see them next time they are in the UK – I’ve missed out enough not seeing them before).

I went to this gig with a bad impression of Megadeth.

DSC_0113
Megadeth

I refer to them as the crap Metallica, which I stand by. They were awful. I can’t pinpoint what made them bad. Was it the songs being so long? The lack of singing with long solos? The fact that they actually used spotlights like a really old band? The fact they are an old school metal band that I am from the wrong generation to like? That the songs sounded rather similar live? I would guess a combination of them all. They had good imagery on the screens, but I didn’t enjoy any of the four songs I heard (which took around half hour for them to get through). I always intended on leaving this early, after about half an hour – it gave me enough time to judge them and decide they are not a band for me. Still, glad I saw them and can now say I have seen them (but won’t be again).

Conclusions

Rating: 

  1. Children of Bodom – 6/10
  2. Lamb of God – 9/10
  3. Megadeth – 1/10

One line summary: Full of guys wearing denim or leather; a right sausage fest!

Would you go again? 

  1. Children of Bodom – Yes
  2. Lamb of God – Absolutely
  3. Megadeth – Hell no!

Were you there? Feel free to give a comment below telling me what your thoughts are!

Leave a Reply

