Album Review: Searching for Zero, Cancer Bats

Cancer-Bats-artHey Guys!

Thanks for checking this out as this is my first proper post to the site!. So I want to discuss the recent(ish) album from Cancer Bats, “Searching For Zero”.

In all honesty, if I was to review this album when it came out I would give it a much lower rating. This album grew on me SO much! I found the first listen to the album very boring, but my opinion changed over repeated listens to the album.

The only time that I have seen Cancer Bats at the time of writing this is co-headlining with While She Sleeps. My god what a tour! I’m forever grateful that While She Sleeps got to headline, but this was still my first introduction to Cancer Bats as a live act.

I can’t say that the album did much for me before seeing them, but as I mentioned previously, the album certainly grows on you. What I considered previously to be “boring”, I now consider quite intriguing.

This album is for everyone. It certainly is a very punky album and will probably leave a lot of people desiring more, but the actual quality is there! There are many songs that are great including; Satellites, Arsenic in TYOYS and Cursed With a Conscience, but there are a couple of songs that are poor.

All Hail follows Cursed With a Conscience. What a low point in the album.The song highlights how much the world of punk has influenced the band, but I still find difficulty listening to the song every time I put the album on.

I also find difficulty in listening to a lot of the songs outside of listening to the album. If I have my music on shuffle, songs off of the album will often be skipped. That still doesn’t take away from the music; I think it needs to be listened to in full.

Conclusions

One line summary: Overall this a great album, but it is an acquired taste.

Rating: 7/10

Favorite Song: Satellites

Listening to this album makes me want to: understand the origins of Punk!

Do you agree? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

